Applications are no longer being accepted for the Best Student Presentation Award.

The IEEE Magnetics Society is sponsoring this competition for the Best Student Presentation Awards at the 2019 Joint Conference. This competition recognizes and encourages excellence in graduate studies in the field of magnetism. There will be a $1000 USD one-year fellowship for the winner and $250 USD one-year fellowship for the remaining finalists. Conference attendees are encouraged to attend the talks and support these young scientists.


Zhuyun Xiao
University of California, Los Angeles
CE-03. Single Domain Magnetoelastic Terfenol-D Microdisks for Particle and Cell Manipulation

2019 Joint Conference Best Student Presentation Finalists

Kresna B. Fathoni
National Institute for Materials Science and University of Tsukuba
AG-11. Large MR Ratio by Using Metastable bcc-Cu Spacer Layer in Epitaxial Current In-Plane Giant Magnetoresistance Devices

William Legrand
Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales, Univ. Paris-Sud
BC-01. Controlling the Profile, Stability and Dynamics of Chiral Hybrid Skyrmions

Rahul Mishra
National University of Singapore
CB-09. Electric-field Control of Spin Accumulation Direction in a Spin-orbit Torque Device

Niklas Roschewsky
UC Berkeley
AB-07. Spin-Orbit Torque and Nernst Effects in BixSb1-x/Ferromagnet Heterostructures

Zhuyun Xiao
University of California, Los Angeles
CE-03. Single Domain Magnetoelastic Terfenol-D Microdisks for Particle and Cell Manipulation



  • The nominee must be a full time graduate student expecting to graduate within one year of the Conference. Postdoctoral fellows, undergraduates or non-students are not eligible.
  • The student's area of research may either be theoretical or experimental in any of the general technical and scientific areas normally presented as part of the Conference.
  • The student's regularly submitted abstract must have been accepted for presentation through the normal abstract review process by the Conference Program Committee as an oral presentation, and the student must present the work at the Conference.


  • Students must submit an abstract to the Conference according to the standard submission guidelines and deadlines as outlined under Abstract Submissions. DO NOT identify the abstract as part of the student award competition in the text of the abstract. The Conference abstract extended deadline is August 1, 2018.
  • Students must also submit an extended 2-page abstract of their presentation, including the already submitted abstract number, plus a short (300 words or less) explanation of their contribution to the work described and its significance by the extended submission deadline of August 1, 2018.
  • Applications MUST be submitted via email as .pdf attachments. The email containing the student award application must have a subject line that reads "STUDENT AWARD".
  • Submit applications via email to the 2019 Joint Conference Awards Chair at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Congratulations to the winner and the finalists at the 2017 MMM Conference and 2018 Intermag Conference!

2017 APS-GMAG Best Student Presentation Award

Winner: Jiamin Chen, University of Tsukuba (BE-02)

Finalists: Mukund Bapna, Bryan Esser, Hwaider Lin, and Naveen Sisodia

2018 INTERMAG Best Student Presentation Award

 Winner: Mohammad Zahedinejad, University of Gothenburg (AI-11)

Finalists: Mario Fratzl, Jérémy Létang, Dédalo Sanz-Hernández, Hiroki Taniguchi, and Xueying Zhang