Best Poster Awards


All posters will be eligible for nomination for this award provided they meet the following requirements:

  • The presentations should consist of well-prepared visual materials about the work, posted on a designated board.
  • It is required that an author be registered for the Conference and in attendance to present details and answer questions during the 3-hour designated session time.

Nature of the Award

  • This award consists of a $100 cash award, a certificate, and a Best Poster ribbon.
  • The awards will be given during the last hour of each poster session and a ribbon will be attached to the winning posters.
  • Winning posters will be prominently displayed through the remainder of the Conference.

Selection Process

  • Nominations, made by the Session Chairs, will be forwarded to the Poster Award Committee.
  • The Poster Award Committee will review all nominated posters.
  • Selections will be based on the level of the research, quality of the poster, and clarity of the presentation.

Congratulations to the 2019 MMM Conference Best Poster Award Winners!

AQ-10 Modeling Low-Frequency Short-Range Mechanical Communication
Michael Goforth*1, John Domann11. Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, West Virginia, United States

BU-09 Second order interfacial magnetic anisotropy for MgO/CoFeB/Ta films
Takahiro Ogasawara*1, Mikihiko Oogane1,2, Masakiyo Tsunoda3, Yasuo Ando1,21. Applied physics, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan2. CSIS, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan3. Electronic engineering, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

CR-02 Optically Detected Spectroscopy of Magnons Generated in Nonlinear Ferromagnetic Resonance using NV Centers in Diamond
Brendan McCullian*1, Ahmed Thabt1, Benjamin Gray2, Michael Wolf2, Adam Ahmed1, Vidya Bhallamudi3, Denis Pelekhov1, Michael Page2, P. Hammel11. Physics, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, United States2. Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Dayton, Ohio, United States3. Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Madras, India

DQ-04 Geometrically designed Gd-alloy microwire arrays with enhanced magnetocaloric  properties for energy-efficient magnetic refrigeration
Chang-Ming Hung*1, Hari Srikanth1, Manh-Huong Phan11. Physics, University of South Florida, Tampa, Florida, United States

EU-01 A Multiphysics Assessment on Permeability Tuning Techniques in Power Inductors
Vinicius Cabral do Nascimento*1, Seungryul Moon2, Scott D. Sudhoff1, Kevin Byerly2, Paul Ohodnicki2, Richard Beddingfield21. Electrical and Computer Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, United States2. National Energy Technology Laboratory, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

FP-04 Reprogrammable Nanomagnets for Shape-morphing Micromachines
Jizhai Cui*1,3, Tian-Yun Huang2, Zhaochu Luo1,3, Paolo Testa1,3, Hongri Gu2, Xiang-Zhong     Chen2, Bradley Nelson2, Laura Heyderman1,31. Laboratory for Mesoscopic Systems, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland2. Institute of Robotics and Intelligent Systems, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland3. Laboratory for Multiscale Materials Experiments, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland

GP-10  Introducing multiple stable states in an antiferromagnet-free spin-orbit torque device
Po-Chuan Chen*1, Chao-Yao Yang1, Chih-Huang Lai11. Materials Science and Engineering, National Tsing Hua University, Hsing Chu, Taiwan