Meet the Experts - In-Person

Julie Borchers

Julie Borchers is a Senior Research Scientist at the NIST Center for Neutron Research (NCNR). She serves as the Associate Director of the Center for High Resolution Neutron Scattering (CHRNS), which is a national user facility jointly sponsored by NSF and NCNR, and as an instrument scientist on the Polarized Beam Reflectometer. She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and the Neutron Scattering Society of America. Through the years she has had the privilege of working with many members of the magnetism community in volunteer roles including General Chair of the 2007 Joint MMM– Intermag Conference, Co-Treasurer of the 2018 International Conference on Magnetism (ICM), U.S. C9 Magnetism representative for IUPAP (International Union of Physics and Applied Physics), and Member-at-Large for the Division of Materials Physics and for GMAG in the APS. She currently is the Chair of GMAG. Her research focuses on determination of the magnetic and structural characteristics of nanoscale magnetic systems (i.e., nanoparticles, multilayers, and devices) using diffraction techniques that include x-ray and polarized neutron reflectivity, high-angle neutron diffraction, and small-angle neutron scattering (SANS). Recent interests include magnetic topological systems, multiferroics, and skymions in bulk materials and in thin films.

Kai Liu

Kai Liu is a Professor and McDevitt Chair in Physics at the Georgetown University. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the Johns Hopkins University in 1998, and then carried out postdoctoral research at the University of California - San Diego. He joined the University of California - Davis faculty in 2001 and moved to the Georgetown University in 2018. His research interest is in experimental studies of magnetism and spin transport in nanostructured materials. He was recipient of an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship and a UC Davis Chancellor's Fellowship. He is also an elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (UK), American Physical Society, IEEE and AAAS. Recently he was selected as a Phase 1 Winner of the BARDA-NIOSH Mask Innovation Challenge. He served as the General Chair for the 2016 MMM, as Program Co-Chair for the 2007 MMM and 2011 Intermag, and as an Associate Editor for APL Materials (2018-2019). He is currently serving as Secretary for the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Commission on Magnetism (2018-2021).


Ramesh pursues key materials physics and technological problems in complex multifunctional oxides. Using conducting oxides, he solved the 30-year enigma of polarization fatigue in ferroelectrics. He pioneered research into manganites coining the term, Colossal Magnetoresistive (CMR) Oxides. His work on multiferroics demonstrated electric field control of ferromagnetism, a critical step towards ultralow power memory and logic elements. His extensive publications on the synthesis and materials physics of complex oxides are highly cited (over 65,000 citations, H-factor =144). He is a fellow of APS, AAAS & MRS and an elected member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and a Foreign member of the Royal Society of London. His awards include the Humboldt Senior Scientist Prize, the APS Adler Lectureship and McGroddy New Materials Prize, the TMS Bardeen Prize and the IUPAP Magnetism Prize and Neel Medal. He was recognized as a Thomson-Reuters Citation Laureate in Physics for his work on multiferroics. He served as the Founding Director of the successful Department of Energy SunShot Initiative in the Obama administration, envisioning and coordinating the R&D funding of the U.S. Solar Program, spearheading the reduction in the cost of Solar Energy. He also served as the Deputy Director of Oak Ridge National Laboratory and the Associate Lab Director at LBNL.

Bethanie Stadler

Bethanie Stadler, Professor and Associate Head, Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, obtained her PhD from MIT and BS from CWRU. She is a Fellow of MRS and a Senior Member of the IEEE. Stadler was a 2015 IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer, taught at the IEEE Magnetic Summer School in India and Italy, and hosted the school in Minnesota in 2015. Stadler served as Chair of the 2004 Fall MRS Meeting, and as Director, Secretary, and Program Development Subcommittee Chair for MRS. She served as Program Committee Chair for the Magnetism and Magnetic Materials conference in 2020 and will be the General Co-Chair of Intermag 2023 in Sendai, Japan.